How To Unwind and Pamper Yourself

I know what it feels like to get back home after a really long day at university or at work; you feel exhausted, have a headache and you just want to relax. I realise that some people have an issue with knowing how to pamper themselves, so this blog post is for you. Relax and enjoy!

I do recommend pampering yourself at least once a week, usually that will happen on a Friday evening. When you get home the last thing you want to do is sit around in your uncomfortable clothes, so get changed into some lounge wear – really baggy, unflattering and unattractive clothes. We all have them!

For me, I just hate keeping my make-up on my face and I need to take it off ASAP! Just cleanse your face, get rid of all the sweat and grime that has built up since the morning (yuck!) and go back to doing your skincare later.

I don’t know about you but Friday’s mean carbs to me. If you are feeling completely exhausted skip making your dinner and just order your favourite take-away – why not? If you want to feel better about yourself make something healthy, maybe a stir-fry? For me, it is all about pasta. A plate of spaghetti bolognese is my Friday meal dream. Carbs are the key to any girls heart, right? I like to watch some Netflix (check out my Top Picks) whilst I indulge my bolognese and then it is time for the pampering to commence. Run yourself a luxurious bubble bath, add some aromatic oils or maybe a bath bomb. The atmosphere is key, you want to keep it calm and peaceful, so light some candles around your bathroom – mentally I’m feeling relaxed whilst writing this post! Don’t forget to put a face mask on before you get in the tub, a face mask solves everything! Whilst I’m in the bath, I like to catch up on people’s vlogs on YouTube or sometimes I read a book. Do whatever you enjoy, that is the key to relaxation.

So now you are out of the shower, it is time to go all out on your skincare! Use the most luxurious skincare you own and you will automatically feel better. The smell of Liz Earle’s skincare is almost spa-like and I love using her Skin Repair Moisturiser, it is so creamy and nourishing. Don’t forget to moisturise your body though, that is a step I continuously forget to do. I enjoy using the E45 body moisturiser, it is so simple and does exactly what it says on the bottle!

I’m a huge pyjama person, I adore Primark’s pyjama selection because they basically have everything you would ever want! Get into your most loved and comfy pyjamas so you are ready for bed. This is when it is time to go around your room and light all the candles, not only will this make your room smell amazing but it will enhance the peaceful atmosphere you need in order to fully relax. Before you get into bed go ahead and make a cup of tea or hot chocolate, I prefer a herbal or fruit tea and also take a little snack into the bedroom with you, some chocolate or a cookie maybe.

By the time you go back into your room, the candles would have done their job and you can get into bed feeling calm and relaxed. This is when I love to catch up on a series I’m currently watching (currently it is Prison Break!) and just unwind, drink my tea and eat my chocolate – what sounds better than that? Just don’t forget to blow out the candles before you fall asleep, that would end up messy!

So you’re all set on how to pamper yourself! Don’t be afraid to treat yourself every week, we all need to look after ourselves and need to allow ourselves time to do so. I hope you enjoyed this post and you put it to good use.

Leave a Reply

